Home Links

Join our mailing list

Search

Upcoming Events

Thursday, October 02 2014 2:30 pm - 5:00 pm
The School Farm Produce and More Stand

Thursday, October 09 2014 2:30 pm - 5:00 pm
The School Farm Produce and More Stand

Saturday, October 11 2014 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Weekend Work Party: Volunteer Farm Work Day

Thursday, October 16 2014 2:30 pm - 5:00 pm
The School Farm Produce and More Stand

Thursday, October 23 2014 2:30 pm - 5:00 pm
The School Farm Produce and More Stand

October 2014
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

ECOSF Links
Our Favorite Links

Strictly Local Organizations


Bay Localize http://www.baylocalize.org/
Ecology Center http://www.ecologycenter.org/
Friends of the Urban Forest http://www.fuf.net/
Garden for the Environment http://www.gardenfortheenvironment.org/
Green Citizen Center http://www.globalcitizencenter.org/
Literacy for Environmental Justice http://www.lejyouth.org/
Nature in the City http://natureinthecity.org/
San Francisco Food Systems http://www.sffoodsystems.org/
SF Dept. of Environment http://sfenvironment.org/
Urban Ecology http://www.urbanecology.org/

Collectives and Cooperatives

AK Press http://www.akpress.org/
Arizmendi Bakery http://www.arizmendibakery.org/
Biofuels Oasis http://www.biofueloasis.com/
Box Dog Bikes http://www.boxdogbikes.com/
Ink Works Press http://www.inkworkspress.org/
Liberation Ink http://www.liberationink.org/
Modern Times Bookstore http://www.moderntimesbookstore.com/
Other Avenues Health Food Store http://otheravenues.coop/
Rainbow Grocery Cooperative http://www.rainbowgrocery.org/
Red Vic Movie House http://www.redvicmoviehouse.com/
Rock Paper Scissors Collective http://www.rpscollective.com/
TechCollective http://www.techcollective.com/


Businesses

Acme Bread http://www.ferrybuildingmarketplace.com/acme_bread_company.php
Urban Edibles http://www.urbanedibles.net/
SF Landscapes http://www.sflandscapes.com/
The Urban Farmer Store http://www.urbanfarmerstore.com/
Flower Craft Garden Center http://www.flowercraftgc.com/


Ecological Gardening


Tools
Common Ground Garden Supply http://www.commongroundinpaloalto.org/
Flower Craft Garden Center http://www.flowercraftgc.com/
Harmony Farm Supply and Nursery http://www.harmonyfarm.com/
Hida Tools and Hardware http://www.hidatool.com/
Smith and Speed Mercantile http://www.smithandspeed.com/


Soil
Anresco, Inc. http://www.anresco.com/
Broadmoor Landscape Supply http://www.broadmoorlumber.com/
Jepson Prairie Organics http://www.jepsonprairieorganics.com/buycompost.htm
Umass Soil Testing http://www.umass.edu/plsoils/soiltest/


Seed and Stock
Kitizawa Seed http://www.kitazawaseed.com/
Natural Gardening Company http://www.naturalgardening.com/
Sustainable Seed http://www.sustainableseedco.com/pages/


Composting


Berkeley 18 Day Method http://vric.ucdavis.edu/pdf/compost_rapidcompost.pdf
Cosmos's Red Worms http://www.alcasoft.com/cosmos/index.html
Indore Method http://www.journeytoforever.org/farm_library/howardAT/AT4.html
Rodale Institute http://newfarm.rodaleinstitute.org/depts/NFfield_trials/2006/0413/compost.shtml


Education


Hayes Valley Farm http://www.hayesvalleyfarm.com/
Ecology Center http://www.ecologycenter.org/
Center for Urban Education about Sustainable Agriculture http://www.cuesa.org/
Ecology Action http://www.growbiointensive.org/
Slide Ranch http://www.slideranch.org/
Edible Schoolyard http://www.edibleschoolyard.org/
Center for Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems http://casfs.ucsc.edu/
Community Food Security Coalition http://www.foodsecurity.org/index.html


Integrated Pest Management


Extension Toxicology Network http://extoxnet.orst.edu/
UC Berkeley Urban Pest Management Center http://nature.berkeley.edu/upmc/
Bio-Integral Resource Center http://www.birc.org/
UC Davis IPM Online http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/
Our Water - Our World http://www.ourwaterourworld.org/
Northwest Coalition for Alternatives to Pesticides http://www.pesticide.org/


Ecology


Climate
Climate of San Francisco http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/mtr/sfd_sjc_climate/sfd/SFD_CLIMATE3.php
Golden Gate Weather Services http://ggweather.com/
National Climatic Data Center http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/ncdc.html
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration http://www.noaa.gov/
SF Climate Challenge http://www.sfclimatechallenge.org/


Water
Blue Planet Project http://blueplanetproject.net/
Greywater Action http://www.greywateraction.org/
Islais Creek History http://foundsf.org/index.php?title=Islais_Creek_Remembered
NorCal Solar http://www.norcalsolar.org/
San Francisco Public Utilities Commission http://www.sfwater.org/
WATER Institute http://www.oaecwater.org/


Native Fauna
SF Bay Wildlife http://www.sfbaywildlife.info/
San Francisco's Endangered Species http://sfpsociety.org/SFendangered.html
Center for Biological Diversity http://www.biologicaldiversity.org/
San Francisco Bay Bird Observatory http://www.sfbbo.org/
Treefrog Treks http://www.treefrogtreks.com/
SF Rescued Orphan Mammal Program http://www.sfromp.org/
Marine Mammal Center http://www.marinemammalcenter.org/
Xerces Society for Invertebrate Conservation http://www.xerces.org/
Bay Nature Institute http://baynature.org/


Native Flora
California Native Plant Society http://www.cnps.org/
California Institute for Biodiversity http://www.calalive.org/index.php
The Jepson Online Interchange http://ucjeps.berkeley.edu/interchange.html
Cal Flora Database http://www.calflora.org/
Yerba Buena Nursery http://www.yerbabuenanursery.com/
CalFlora Nursery http://www.calfloranursery.com/


Energy


General
California Energy Commission http://www.energy.ca.gov/
Cooperative Community Energy http://www.cooperativecommunityenergy.com/
Energy Star Rebates http://www.energystar.gov/index.cfm?fuseaction=rebate.rebate_locator
Pacific Energy Center http://www.pge.com/pec/
SF Energy Watch http://www.sfenergywatch.org/


Solar
Build a Solar Cooker http://solarcooking.org/plans/
Go Solar California http://www.gosolarcalifornia.org/
SF Solar Incentive Program http://www.sfsolarsubsidy.com/
SF Solar Map http://sf.solarmap.org/
Solar Living Institute http://www.solarliving.org/


Water
Hydropower Fact Sheet http://www.wind.appstate.edu/reports/microhydro_factsheet.pdf
Low Impact Hydropower Institute http://lowimpacthydro.org/
Wave and Tidal Energy News http://www.wave-tidal-energy.com/


Biofuels
Aprovecho http://www.aprovecho.net/
Biomass Energy Resource Center http://www.biomasscenter.org/
Dogpatch Biofuels - http://www.dogpatchbiofuels.com/
Frybid: Veggie Oil Fuel Systems http://www.frybrid.com/
Make Your Own Biodiesel http://www.journeytoforever.org/biodiesel_make.html
People’s Fuel Cooperative - http://www.peoplesfuel.org/
Rocket Stoves http://www.bioenergylists.org/stovesdoc/Still/VC%20Stove/vcstove.html
Wood Heat Organization http://www.woodheat.org/


Wind
Community Wind Collaborative http://www.masstech.org/rebate/Community_Wind/index.htm
Whirligig Inc http://www.whirligig-inc.com/
Wind Works http://www.wind-works.org/
Windustry http://www.windustry.org/


Natural Building


Methods
Adobe http://www.adobebuilder.com/
Bamboo http://www.thenaturalbuilders.com/natural_building.html#bamboo
Cob http://www.cobcottage.com/
Earthships http://earthship.org/
Rammed Earth http://www.rammedearthworks.com/
Slip Straw http://www.nbne.org/natbuild/owalls.php
Strawbale http://www.skillful-means.com/pages/page.php?pageid=1
Wattle and Daub http://www.wattleanddaub.com/


Materials
Sand and Gravel http://www.sfgravel.com/
SF Clay Source http://www.eco-sf.org/
Stone http://www.broadmoorlumber.com/
Strawbales http://www.eco-sf.org/
Urbanite http://www.sfgov.org/site/sfdpw_index.asp


Education
California Straw Building Association http://www.strawbuilding.org/
Emerald Earth Sanctuary http://www.emeraldearth.org/
Regenerative Design Institute http://www.regenerativedesign.org/
Solar Living Institute http://www.solarliving.org/


Homesteading


Animals
Institute of Urban Homesteading http://www.iuhoakland.com/
SF Bee Association http://www.sfbee.org/Meetings_and_Events.html
SF Health Code Sec 37 http://library.municode.com/HTML/14136/level1/A1.html#A1_s37
Urban Chickens http://urbanchickens.org/


Canning, Drying, and Preserving
Homegrown Evolution http://www.homegrownevolution.com/
Homemade Food Dehydrator http://www.ravishinglyraw.com/tag/homemade-food-dehydrator/
How to Homestead http://www.howtohomestead.org/
National Center for Home Food Preservation http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/


Fermentation
Cheese Making http://schmidling.com/making.htm
Dairy Connection, Inc http://www.dairyconnection.com/
The Fresh Loaf http://www.thefreshloaf.com/
Vegetarian Rennet http://www.rainbowgrocery.org/
Wild Fermentation http://www.wildfermentation.com/